Home   >   About   >   NavyArmy Board of Directors   >   Nomination & Petition

Nomination & Petition


Nomination and election of members to serve on the Navy Army Community Credit Union (NACCU) Board of Directors (Board) is governed by the credit union’s Bylaws and Policies & Procedures. The Chairman of the Board selects a Nominating Committee which then proposes individuals for upcoming Board vacancies.

Please be advised that nominations from the floor will no longer be called for nor accepted.

The Bylaws allow members to petition for nomination to the Board prior to the Annual Membership Meeting and have their name placed on the ballot at the Annual Meeting. The petition must be signed by a minimum of 500 members who are in good standing, designated as the “Primary Owner” on the account, at least 18 years old, who has a minimum of one full share ($25) in the share/savings account, has not caused a loss to NACCU, and is not past due 90 days or more at the time of the petition process.

On October 1, 2018, petition packets will be available at the locations listed below. Completed petition packets are due back to NavyArmy by 5:00pm (CST) on November 1, 2018. Note: Candidates must pick up and return petition packets in person for verification and signature.

NACCU policy prohibits solicitation of petition signatures and distribution of literature on anyone seeking nomination by petition on any NACCU premises.

Petition Pick-Up & Return Locations:

  1. J Wayne Vann Administration Building located at 2730 Rodd Field Road, Corpus Christi, TX 78414
  2. Shary Road Branch located at 408 Shary Road, Mission, TX 78572

All completed petitions returned by the “due back” date set forth above will be reviewed and validated to ensure full compliance with the election rules and requirements set forth in the RULES AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE COMPLETION OF THE OFFICIAL PETITION & TEXAS CREDIT UNION DIRECTOR APPLICATION AND AGREEMENT TO SERVE FORM. After such review and validation, if there is more than one candidate for each position to be filled, the election shall be by voting conducted at the NACCU Annual Membership Meeting on February 12, 2019. The Board Secretary shall cause printed ballots to be distributed to the members who are eligible to vote and attending the Annual Membership Meeting. In such event, the election shall be determined by plurality vote. If there is only one nominee for each position to be filled, the election will be by acclamation and no election will be conducted by ballot.

Three positions are open for election to the Board. The four positions are for a three-year term. The Nominating Committee has placed the following individuals up for nomination:

Nominated Candidates for Navy Army Community Credit Union Board of Directors

Kendra Kinnison (Appointed 7/24/2018 to 2/2019)  Kendra L. Kinnison, MBA, CPA, is the General Manager for Port Royal Ocean Resort. She also provides leadership and productivity coaching through Coach.me.

Kendra serves on the Board of Directors for the Texas Travel Industry Association, the Board of Directors for the Corpus Christi Convention and Visitors Bureau, and the Advisory Board of the College of Business at Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi. She chairs the Texas BPW Foundation and is a Past State President of Texas Business Women. Over the last two decades, Kendra has served in leadership positions in a number of community service organizations.

Holding an MBA and BBA from Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi, Kendra is the youngest MBA graduate in the school’s history. She is also a graduate of Leadership Corpus Christi Class XXX and was the Steering Committee Chair for Class XXXV. Kendra was an inaugural selection to Corpus Christi’s Top 40 Under 40 list in 2006 and was a Y Women in Careers Honoree in 2005.

Sylvia Martinez (Elected 2/2016 to 2/2019) Ms. Martinez was elected to the Board of Directors in February of 2007. She was a member of the Supervisory Committee for 15 years, serving as chairman for her last five years. She served for 19 years as the Deputy Comptroller for the Naval Hospital, Corpus Christi and retired after 34 years of civil service. She has completed the Volunteer Achievement Program training courses. She has received the Friedrich W. Raiffeisen Award in the VAP; Filene and Tech awards and pins; and the Financial Literacy award and certification. She has been on the board for nine years. She has held the Office of Secretary for one term and Vice Chairman for two terms.

Pete Rivera (Elected 2/2016 to 2/2019) Mr. Rivera is retired after 37 years of federal service. He is a graduate of Texas A&I University with a BBA in Accounting, and Syracuse University’s Advanced Financial Management School. He maintains certifications in Information Technology/Infrastructure Library and Six Sigma and is employed by the Washington consulting firm of Booz Allen Hamilton. He has served on the Board for 34 years and has completed the core level, Filene, Bergengren, Raiffeisen and Technology awards of the VAP.