Home   >   About   >   NavyArmy Board of Directors

NavyArmy Board of Directors

Bryan Stone
Elected 2/2018 to 2/2021

Mr. Stone is an attorney with Upton, Mickits & Heymann, L.L.P.. He is board certified and specializes in all areas of real estate-finance/banking. He is a member of the Corpus Christi Bar Association, American Bar Association, and State Bar Association. He graduated from University of Texas in 1980 and from University of Houston Law Center in 1986 with honors. His volunteer activities include: Buccaneer Commission, City of CC planning & Zoning Commission, Leadership CC (Class XXII), CC Texas Longhorn Foundation, Corpus Christi Area Council for the Deaf, and Food Bank of CC. He has served on the board for four years.

Vice Chair
John Chapman
Elected 2/2020-2/2023

Mr. Chapman holds a M.S. from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. He also holds a General Securities and General Agent Insurance license(s). He is a (Retired) CEO/President of the J Chapman Financial Group, LLC. In the past, Chapman has volunteered as a coach for youth sports and as a Boy Scout Leader. Chapman currently is a member of the Kiwanis Club of CC Bay, serves on the Jr. Achievement Committee and is a Metro Ministries Ambassador. Chapman is a native of Lafayette, LA, married with two children and four granddaughters. Chapman has served on the board for four years.

Robert (Bob) Westrup
Elected 2/2020-2/2023

Mr. Westrup graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with a BBA in Accounting in 1972. He is licensed as a Certified Public Accountant (Retired) and all lines Insurance Agent. He previously worked for Peat, Marwick and Mitchell (now known as KPMG) as an Auditor. He has worked for Charlie Thomas, B. J. (Red) McCombs and Jack Sulephen interests as an internal auditor, controller and CFO. In 2003, he retired as General Manager and President of Padre Ford Mazda (1998 to 2003). Mr. Westrup in the past has owned and operated two small businesses. He is currently retired. Westrup has served on the board for four years.

Theresa (Tess) Gonzales
Elected 2/2020-2/2023

Ms. Gonzales is a Corpus Christi native and attended Del Mar College & Corpus Christi State University. She has been employed with Allison Flooring America as a commercial estimator for 24 years (overseeing and managing large commercial projects from start to finish) and a small business owner for the last 4 yrs. She is a current member and former Board Member of the Associated General Contractors Association (AGC) – South Texas Chapter. Beyond her work related obligations, she is involved heavily with her church, serving as a Eucharistic Minister at St. Thomas More Catholic Church for more than 20 years. She has been an Active member of the Junior League of Corpus Christi for 9 years, including serving twice on the Board of Directors as Member-At-Large and Nominating Chairman. Her other volunteer work includes assisting with the annual American Heart Association gala, Buc Days Rodeo Corpus Christi, and the American Cancer Society Cattle Barons Ball. She has been a NACCU Member for over 30 years. Gonzales has served on the board for four years.

Gerald G. Villarreal
Elected 2/2019-2/2021

Mr. Villarreal is an Attorney and Counselor at Law, licensed by the Supreme Court of Texas and by the United States District Court, Southern District of Texas. He maintains a solo law practice which includes criminal defense, probate law, family law, property law and representing clients in a wide variety of other legal issues. He worked as a management analyst, systems administrator and systems accountant during his 14-year career with the federal government. He is a graduate of Corpus Christi State University with a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration with a major in Accounting. He received his Juris Doctor Degree with a concentration in Business, Taxation and Commercial Transactions from Creighton University School of Law in Omaha, Nebraska.

Kendra Kinnison
Elected 2/2019 to 2/2022

Kendra L. Kinnison, MBA, CPA, is the General Manager for Port Royal Ocean Resort.
Kendra serves on the Board of Directors for the Texas Travel Industry Association, Visit Corpus Christi, the National Alumni Association of Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi, and the Advisory Board of the College of Business. She chairs the Texas BPW Foundation and is a Past State President of Texas Business Women. Over the last two decades, Kendra has served in leadership positions in a number of community service organizations.
Holding an MBA and BBA from Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi, Kendra is the youngest MBA graduate in the school’s history. She is also a graduate of Leadership Corpus Christi Class XXX and was the Steering Committee Chair for Class XXXV. Kendra was an inaugural selection to Corpus Christi’s Top 40 Under 40 list in 2006 and was a Y Women in Careers Honoree in 2005.

Pete Rivera
Elected 2/2019 to 2/2022

Mr. Rivera is retired after 37 years of federal service. He is a graduate of Texas A&I University with a BBA in Accounting, and Syracuse University’s Advanced Financial Management School. He maintains certifications in Information Technology/Infrastructure Library, Six Sigma and AGILE Methodology and is employed by the Washington consulting firm of Booz Allen Hamilton. He has served on the Board for 36 years and has completed the core level, Filene, Bergengren, Raiffeisen and Technology awards of the VAP.

Sylvia Martinez
Elected 2/2019 to 2/2022

Ms. Martinez was elected to the Board of Directors in February of 2007. She was a member of the Supervisory Committee for 15 years, serving as chairman for her last five years. She served for 19 years as the Deputy Comptroller for the Naval Hospital, Corpus Christi and retired after 34 years of civil service. She has completed the Volunteer Achievement Program training courses. She has received the Friedrich W. Raiffeisen Award in the VAP; Filene and Tech awards and pins; and the Financial Literacy award and certification. She has been on the board for 11 years. She has held the Office of Secretary for one term and Vice Chairman for two terms.

Thelma Garza Mandel
Elected 2/2020-2/2023

Mrs. Mandel was born and raised in Corpus Christi. She attended Del Mar College, and graduated from Corpus Christi State University with a Bachelor of Business Administration. Currently, Mandel is the CFO for Asset Protection & Security Services LP. She has been involved with business/management decision-making for over 20 years. She began her business career with CPL and then moved to the Washington, D.C. area to work for a Department of Defense contractor. Upon returning to Corpus Christi, she worked in the business community and then changed careers to be a teacher while her children were in school. She worked for CCISD for 15 years. She volunteers and has served as a board member for Grant and Carroll PTAs, Carroll Volleyball, and Soccer Booster Clubs. She is married to Scott Mandel and has three children: Brian, Kevin, and Meghan. Mandel has served on the board for four years.